State Math Contest Sites, Rules & News

2014 was the 58th annual giving of this state-wide mathematics contest. 

Brief History
Started as a regional conference at NW Community College in Powell, Wyoming, the contest was named for its originator, Herb Wolsborn, the mathematics faculty member at the college.  Many years later, the current sponsors voted to change the name in honor of the Drazovich family of Rock Springs for there generous financial support for both regional and statewide winners.

The competition is administered at 9 geographically diverse sites (see list below).  Each site schedules its exam day according to local circumstances, although all sites target a 2-week window in February/March  

If your child or your school might like to participate in the exam, please contact a site coordinator or one of the statewide organizers on the table below.  

The competition comprises three different exams, each with 50 multiple-choice problems, divided into five timed tests will be administered, each to last twenty minutes.  Each student will work individually on the tests, and the school sponsor(s) will monitor the contestants.  Pencils and scratch paper should be furnished by the site and distributed by the sponsor(s).  No reference materials may be used by the contestants; however, calculators are permissible. For copies and answers of past exams, see the past exams page:
  • 7th-8th grades exam (younger children have occasionally participated)compete only as individuals
  • 9th-10th grades exam compete Class B and individually
  • 11-12th grades exam compete Class A and individually

Most sites allow schools to enter any number of students.  This number may, however, be restricted by individual directors due to facilities limitations.  School team scores in classes A and B will consist of the sum of the three highest scores from each school in each class.  Schools competing with fewer than three students in a class may still vie for individual honors.

A state-wide charge of $3 per contestant will be collected; some sites may add $1 to defray additional contest expenses.  Contact your site coordinator about payment.  Some sites ask that you pay the host school, and others ask that each school pays.  Checks should be made payable to "Treasurer - WCTM" and mailed directly to the current treasurer:
                    Lynne Ipina - Treasurer, WCTM
                    Box 3036
                    Math Dept. - University of Wyoming
                    Laramie, WY 82071

A number of awards are dispensed each year:

  1. Trophies to the top team in the state in classes A and B.
  2. Trophies to the top team in each district in classes A and B, with medals for the six winners.
  3. Three medals for the district winners in each of 7th and 8th grades.
  4. Plaques to the top ten individuals in the state in each of class A and B, and to the top five individuals in both 7th and 8th grades.
  5. The top individual in class A will receive the Drazovich Trophy, courtesy of the Drazovich family of Rock Springs.
Winners are named at each site.  There is no second stage to this competition.  Instead,  all regional scores are merged so that statewide winners can be named.  For recent past State winners, please see the past winners' page.

District Directors:


  Don Anderson/Martin Stensing
  Northwest College
  231 West Sixth Street
  Powell, WY 82435

   Jay Aaras
   Sheridan College
   3059 Coffeen Ave.
   Sheridan, WY 82801
  LeAnn Cox
  1000 Camel Dr.
  Campbell County High School
  Gillette, WY 82716

  Ray DeWitt
  Eastern Wyoming College
  3200 West C Street
  Torrington, Wyoming 82240

  Mark Kuhlman/Kendall Jacobs
  125 College Drive
  Casper College
  Casper, WY 82601

  Sarah Pauley/Susan Heyborne
  Math Department
  2500 College Drive
  Rock Springs, WY 82901

  Kristin Cavallier
  Mathematics Coordinator

  Laramie County School District #1
  Cheyenne, WY 82007-3299

  Michael Bostick
  2660 Peck Ave.
  Central Wyoming College
  Riverton, WY 82501
  Susan Mick
  Teton County School District #1
   P.O. Box 568
  Jackson, WY 83001
  Lynne Ipina
  Department of Mathematics
  Department 3036
  1000 E. University
   Laramie, WY 82071

  Kendall Jacobs - WCTM  President                                          
 125 College Drive
  Casper College
  Casper, WY 82601
  Lynne Ipina - WCTM Treasurer
  Box 3036 
  University of Wyoming
  Mathematics Dept.
  Laramie, WY 82071

  Jon Prewett - State Contest Coordinator         
  Box 3036 
  University of Wyoming
  Mathematics Dept.
  Laramie, WY 82071